2014 Crystal Globe Award Recipients

Sean McGarvey
North America’s Building Trades Unions

Sean is president of North America’s Building Trades Unions. He began his career at the International Union of Painters and Allied Trades (IUPAT) in 1981. He rose through the ranks at IUPAT and was elected secretary-treasurer of North America’s Building Trades Unions in 2005. In 2012, he became president. Sean also serves on several union construction labor-management committees.

Max Patterson

Max is the executive director of the Texas Association of Public Employees Retirement Systems (TEXPERS), a statewide association organized in 1989 to provide educational programs for more than 80 Texas retirement systems. These systems serve more than 400,000 active and retired members with more than $45 billion in assets. Max serves as the governor’s appointee to the Texas Emergency Services Retirement Board.

Marc Perrone
UFCW International Union

Marc was elected international secretary-treasurer of the 1.3 million-member United Food and Commercial Workers International Union in 2004. In this capacity, his primary responsibility is monitoring the finances of the International Union. He is also responsible for stewardship of the pension funds that will enable UFCW members to live out their retirement years in security and with dignity.